Meet the Writers

Iowa City is the home to Poets, Novelists, Playwrights, Essayists, Translators, Journalists, Screenwriters and more ...

Full Collection of Writers

International Writing Program

Mo Yan

Guan Moye (better known by the pen name Mo Yan) is a Chinese novelist and short story writer. He won the Nobel Prize for his work in 2012. He was a participant in the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa. [more]

Orhan Pamuk

Orhan Pamuk, winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize for literature, took part in the International Writing Program (IWP) in the fall of 1985. He is one of Turkey's most prominent novelists; his work has sold over seven million books. [more]

Paul Engle

Paul Engle (October 12, 1908 – March 22, 1991) was a poet, literary critic, novelist, and playwright. He acted as the long-time director of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and was the founder of the International Writing Program, both at the University of Iowa. [more]

Tomaž Šalamun

Tomaž Šalamun was a participant in the University of Iowa's International Writing Program in 1971. He has published 38 volumes of poems in his native Slovenia and has been translated into nearly two dozen languages. [more]

W.S. Merwin

W. S. Merwin was an American poet and translator. His work received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1971 and 2009; the National Book Award for Poetry in 2005, and the Tanning Prize. He was a visiting reader and professor at the University of Iowa. [more]